FORM. II

TRIPURA HUMAN RIGHTS COMMISSION KUNJABAN, AGARTALA

Complaint No. 28 of 2024

(Suo-Motu Cognizance)

ORDER SHEET

Sl.No.	DATE	ORDER	NOTE
01	21.11.24	Attention of the Commission is drawn to the news item	
		published in "Tripura Bhabhishyat" dated 21 st November,	
		2024 on heading " ন্য়া শিক্ষানীতিতে শিক্ষকের এক চড়ে কান	
		ফাটল ছাএের!" It is inter alia reported in the news paper that	
		one teacher namely: Khokan Deb of Paharmura XII School,	
		Khowai Sub-Division caused hurt to a student namely:	
		Subhakar Deb S/O Sri Subhankar Deb in such a manner that	
		he sustained grievous hurt at his ear. It is reported that the	×
		incident took place about 10/11 days earlier on 11th	
	~	November, 2024 Monday and the student Subhakar Deb is a	
		son of a day labourer and he is a resident of Gouranagar,	
		Majumder Tilla. It is further reported that the student	
		inquired to the said teacher as to why he was given one	
		mark in a subject and at that the teacher became aggressive	
	2	and dealt a severe slap at his cheek affecting his ear.	
		Receiving the slap the student fell down. On receipt of	
		information his mother and other relatives rushed and he	
		was taken to Khowai, District Hospital and then to GBP	
		Hospital Agartala. The medical officer, GBP Hospital	
		opined that the student sustained injury at his eardrum. As a	
		result good amount would be required for his treatment.	

Corporal punishment is prohibited in any Educational Institution on any student by the school authorities. This seems to be a serious incident that a teacher caused a severe injury upon a student by giving slap making serious injuries at his eardrum.

So, the Commission considers it appropriate to take provisional cognizance of the matter and directs the Director, School Education to make an inquiry as to the incident as reported in the newspaper and to submit a report before the Commission within three weeks.

A copy of this order along with copy of the paper cutting may be sent to the Director, School Education.

Fix on 2012 2024

(JUSTICE S.C. DAS) CHAIRPERSON

(UDIT CHOUDHURI)

MEMBER